Episodes

November 16, 2018

Episode 21: Laura Sebastian & The Great Publishing Bake Off

Laura Sebastian was born and raised in South Florida (the Redlands and Key Largo) and has always loved telling stories–many apologies to her little brother who often got in trouble because of them. No copies of her first book, a Cinderella retelling about angels circa 2nd grade, remain. Thankfully.

After getting her BFA from Savannah College of Art and Design, she moved to New York City thinking that she would stay for a couple of years before going somewhere better suited for a small-town, sun-loving girl. Five years later, she’s still here and madly in love with it.

When Laura isn’t writing, she’s probably reading, baking cookies or cupcakes, buying more clothes than her overstuffed closet can fit, or forcing her lazy dog Neville to take a walk.

Her debut ASH PRINCESS, the start of a YA fantasy trilogy, released April  24th, 2018 from Delacorte (Random House) and debuted on the NYT Bestseller list.

LADY SMOKE, the sequel to the instant New York Times bestseller  that was “made for fans of Victoria Aveyard and Sabaa Tahir” ( Bustle ), is an epic new fantasy about a throne cruelly stolen and a girl who must fight to take it back for her people. LADY SMOKE is out February 5th, 2019.

Follow Laura online!

Twitter

Instagram

Website 

Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel Ortega online

Twitter 

Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Follow Kat Cho online

Twitter

Instagram

YouTube

Add Kat’s debut on Goodreads! 

Write or Die Podcast Website

November 13, 2018

The state of podcasting marketing

Always strive for better work. Never stop learning. Have fun a clear plan for a new project or just an idea on a napkin?  Sky, land, and sea disappear together out of the world.

Continue Reading

November 9, 2018

Episode 20: Natasha Ngan & Just Being Glad to Have a Forking Deal

Natasha Ngan is a writer and yoga teacher. She grew up between Malaysia, where the Chinese side of her family is from, and the UK. This multicultural upbringing continues to influence her writing, and she is passionate about bringing diverse stories to teens. Natasha studied Geography at the University of Cambridge before working as a social media consultant and fashion blogger.

She recently moved to Paris, where she likes to imagine she drifts stylishly from brasserie to brasserie, notepad in one hand, wineglass in the other. In reality, she spends most of her time getting lost on the metro and confusing locals with her French.

She is represented by Taylor Haggerty at Root Literary. Her YA novels THE ELITES and THE MEMORY KEEPERS are out now from Hot Key Books, and GIRLS OF PAPER AND FIRE will be published in October 2018 by Jimmy Patterson/Little Brown (US) and Hodder & Stoughton (UK). Head on over to the Books page for more info!

Natasha is also co-owner of fashion, travel and lifestyle blog Girl in the Lens.

Follow Natasha online!

Twitter

Instagram

Facebook

Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel on Twitter 

Follow Claribel on Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Write or Die Podcast Website

Ad website: meg-edits.com

November 2, 2018

Episode 19: Samira Ahmed & The Truth About Expiration Dates on Dreams

Born in Bombay India and raised outside of Chicago, Illinois, Samira spent countless hours at the library in her small hometown nestled in an oversized armchair next to an old Victorian fireplace with her nose in an Agatha Christie novel or re-reading Little Women, hoping that Jo would somehow end up with Laurie this time. Samira always loved to write—especially poetry–but never actually dreamed of becoming a writer until she was an adult and an idea for a story captured her imagination and wouldn’t let go.

Samira is the New York Times bestselling author of Love, Hate, & Other Filters and the forthcoming, Internment(March 2019) and Mad, Bad, & Dangerous to Know (January 2020).

These days, Samira lives in Chicago, Illinois. When she’s not writing or reading, she can be found on her lifelong quest for the perfect pastry.

Follow Samira online

Twitter @sam_aye_ahm

Instagram @sam_aye_ahm

Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel on Twitter 

Follow Claribel on Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Write or Die Podcast Website

October 31, 2018

Halloween Bonus Episode: Holly Black, Pond Revelations and Weird Stuff!

Holly Black is the author of bestselling contemporary fantasy books for kids and teens. Some of her titles include The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), The Modern Faerie Tale series, the Curse Workers series, Doll Bones, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, the Magisterium series (with Cassandra Clare) and The Darkest Part of the Forest. She has been a a finalist for an Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award, the Mythopoeic Award and a Newbery Honor. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret door.

Follow Holly Online!

Twitter

Facebook

Tumblr

Buy her books! THEY’RE FANTASTIC! 

Craft book mentioned in this episode

2k to 10k: Writing Faster, Writing Better, and Writing More of What You Love

Writing the Breakout Novel: Insider Advice for Taking Your Fiction to the Next Level

Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel on Twitter 

Follow Claribel on Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Write or Die Podcast Website

October 26, 2018

Ghostober Episode 4: S. Jae-Jones & Who Are You Romancing?

S. Jae-Jones was born and raised in sunny Los Angeles, where she spent summers on the beach and winters on the slope until she was convinced by Sesame Street (and university) to move to New York City. A native Angelena and a New Yorker at heart, she now lives in Dixie, where she is comfortably growing fat on grits and barbecue. When not writing, she can be find rock-climbing, skydiving, taking photographs, drawing pictures, and dragging her dog on ridiculously long hikes.

Follow JJ online!

Twitter

Facebook

Tumblr

Instagram

http://www.publishingcrawl.com/

Buy WINTERSONG & SHADOWSONG! 

Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel on Twitter 

Follow Claribel on Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Write or Die Podcast Website

October 22, 2018

How to keep your audience involved

Always strive for better work. Never stop learning. Have fun a clear plan for a new project or just an idea on a napkin?  Sky, land, and sea disappear together out of the world.

Continue Reading

October 19, 2018

Ghostober Episode 3: Kat Cho & The Monthly Whale Fight

Kat Cho used to hide books under the bathroom sink and then sneak in there to read after bedtime. Her parents pretended not to know. This helped when she decided to write a dinosaur time-travel novel at the tender age of nine. Sadly, that book was not published. She currently works in NYC as an editorial assistant. Kat’s YA contemporary fantasy debut, GUMIHO, comes out with Putnam Books for Young Readers/Penguin in 2019.

Follow Kat online at: Twitter | Instagram | Youtube

Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel on Twitter 

Follow Claribel on Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Write or Die Podcast Website

October 13, 2018

Ghostober Episode 2: India Hill, Karen Strong & The Ghost Sugar Daddy

More about Karen Strong:

Born and raised in the rural South, Karen Strong has a passion for writing for kids and teens — focusing on black girls who explore the realms of adventure and mystery with a dash of spooky.

Add JUST SOUTH OF HOME on Goodreads!

Follow Karen Online!

More about India Hill:

A 26-year-old Southern Belle who came back down south after living in NYC and working at HBO. My day job is in Social Media, and my passion is writing. I LOVE to write – I’m agented and am working on a couple of fiction projects. I’m a Freelance Writer as well – my words have been in Teen Vogue, Essence, Sesi Mag, and The Everygirl.

Add THE FORGOTTEN GIRL on Goodreads!

Follow India Online!


Join the WRITE OR DIE Community on Facebook! 

Follow Claribel on Twitter 

Follow Claribel on Instagram

Add GHOST SQUAD on Goodreads 

www.claribelortega.com

Write or Die Podcast Website

Scroll to top